South Georgia State College


South Georgia State College (SGSC) was created by the Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia on January 8, 2013, from the consolidation of Waycross College and South Georgia College in Douglas. The new, multi-campus institution serves approximately 2,650 students from 111 Georgia counties, 22 states, and 13 countries.

SGSC’s main service area encompasses 15 counties in southern Georgia. It includes campuses in Douglas and Waycross, entry programs through Georgia Southwestern State University (Americus) and Valdosta State University, and Move on When Ready in partnership with area high schools. As a result, SGSC now provides a wider selection of classes for its students.

SGSC currently offers three bachelor's degrees - the Bachelor of Science degree in Biological Sciences, the Bachelor of Science degree in Nursing and the Bachelor of Science in Management.  Associate degrees are also offered in over 20 programs of study. Now known as a state college within the University System of Georgia, the potential exists for SGSC to offer additional baccalaureate degrees in the future.

The College is committed to achievement and utilizes a number of strategies on each campus to guide students in their academic pursuits. Among these strategies are tutoring and individualized academic guidance from professionals in their field of study. Other services, such as those meeting counseling and disability needs, help to support overall student success.

Students have the flexibility to live on campus in Douglas or plan their schedules around family and work by utilizing any of SGSC’s convenient locations. The Douglas Campus boasts two modern residence halls, which provide additional student life programming and all the amenities and comforts of home to enjoy college life. A revitalized dining hall and the Clower Student Life Center offer additional social activities. Likewise, a newly renovated Student Learning Center and the James M. Dye Student Services Building provide a sense of community and fun for students utilizing the Waycross Campus. SGSC also offers over 20 clubs and organizations between both campuses to provide students with a well-rounded collegiate experience.

Intercollegiate athletics has a rich heritage in both Douglas and Waycross, drawing athletes from throughout Georgia as well as other states and countries. The athletic program includes baseball, women’s softball, women’s soccer, men’s and women’s swimming, men’s and women’s cross country, and men’s basketball. Students may also enjoy intramural sports and individual play on numerous fields and courts on both campuses. The Douglas Campus features a nine-hole golf course and an indoor junior Olympic-size pool in its Wellness Center complex. The Waycross Campus has its own array of recreational venues, including two lakes, a paracourse walking trail that meanders through the 150-acre campus, a gymnasium, and tennis and racquetball courts.

SGSC currently contributes over $63.5 million annually to the region’s economy. The College partners with economic development officials to strengthen the quality of life in the communities it serves by hosting over 30 cultural or educational events each year. Both the South Georgia State College Foundation and the James M. Dye Foundation support the College through annual awards of tuition assistance. Funding for campus priorities not covered by the state or through tuition is also provided to strengthen the institution’s academic and economic footprint throughout the state of Georgia.