News and Updates

South Georgia State College’s James M. Dye Foundation raises over $20,000 at the inaugural SGSC “Birdies for Bucks” Golf Classic

Posted on Feb 21, 2019

South Georgia State College (SGSC) students will reap the benefits from the first annual “Birdies for Bucks” Golf Classic held February 8, 2019, at the Okefenokee Country Club in Blackshear, Ga.


“Birdies for Bucks” was created by the James M. Dye Foundation on South Georgia State College’s Waycross Campus to support SGSC’s Gap Funding Project. The project provides grants to students on SGSC’s Waycross Campus who experience financial limitations after all financial aid options have been exhausted.


The event raised over $20,000 and will enable the Dye Foundation to put financial resources in place so that future students have the opportunity to realize their academic dreams.


"We are very thankful to everyone who supported SGSC's Inaugural Golf Classic Tournament and silent auction event,” says SGSC President Dr. Ingrid Thompson-Sellers. “Because of your generosity, many more South Georgia State College students will realize their dream of attaining a college education.  This is a gift that will keep on giving for many years and generations to come."


The kickoff for “Birdies for Bucks” was a sponsor reception and silent auction Thursday evening, Feb. 7 with activities continuing Friday morning at breakfast and a shotgun start for the 4-man scramble. A lunch and awards ceremony was held following tournament play.

The first place team (gross) included Randy Howell, Dr. David Morton, Greg O’Brien and Joe Skinner. Making up the first place (net) team were James Willis, Henry Russell, Bobby Tippins and Randy Grantham.


The event would not have been possible without the tournament committee and the many generous donors and sponsors. “The inaugural ‘Birdies for Bucks’ golf tournament was a tremendous success.  On behalf of the Board of Trustees of the James M. Dye Foundation, we sincerely appreciate the support of the sponsors and participants,” commented Dye Foundation President Adam Ferrell. “Because of their support, we will be able to provide needed financial assistance to many students at SGSC's Waycross Campus.  I also would like to thank our Board members, the SGSC staff and students, and other volunteers who worked so hard to organize and staff this event.”


Gold sponsors were BYRT, Drs. Thomas and Barbara Losty and Memorial Satilla Health. Bronze sponors were Adam Ferrell, Georgia Power, LANG BBQ Smokers, Lewis & Raulerson, Inc., PrimeSouth Bank, Southern Eagle, Dr. Ingrid Thompson-Sellers, Walmart and Rev. and Mrs. David White.


Driving Range sponsors were Callaway Advertising, Clayton Homes, Coca-Cola, Crossway Realty, Gibson & Associates, P.C., Music Funeral Home, Southeastern Credit Union and SGSC Faculty.


The Hole sponsors were Ankle Foot and Associates, Bacon County Hospital and Health System, City of Homerville, Clinch County Chamber of Commerce and Visitors Center, Elite Primary Care, Howell Roofing Company, Joe, Janice & Jade Skinner, Robbie Roberson Ford, Roger E. Collins, Ware County Tax Commissioner, United 1st Federal Credit Union, United Community Bank, WAYCROSS Magazine and Waycross Urology Clinic.


The Hole Contest sponsors were Applebee’s, Dr. Michelle DiBiase, LANG BBQ Smokers, Dr. John Lefand, Jr., Lowe’s, Terrell McCall, Howard Meadows State Farm, Dr. David Morton, DDS, Satilla Marine, Sparky “D” Sharpton, Walker Jones, Walmart, Whitaker’s Golf Carts and Wilson Insurance.


The Silent Auction sponsors were Hildegard Amspacher, Cory Baldwin, Martin Bell, Designs Unlimited Josh Fowler, Friendly Express, Gil Gibson, Susanne Gibson, Gopher Plantation, Donnie Griffin, J. Green & Co., Jake & Ed’s, Jorja’s Nails and Hair Salon, K.D.’s, L.L. Creek, LANG BBQ Smokers, Lee Hardware, Lowe’s, Greg Martin, Megan’s Boutique, EB Price, Mike Ranew, Pat Reid, Robbie Roberson Ford, Staples, Jimmy Stewart, Tiffany Goggin Photography, Patti White, Michael Winge and Yancey Brothers.


Additional thanks are extended to SGSC faculty, staff and student volunteers, Susanne Gibson, Okefenokee Country Club, Stewart Distribution, Patti White and Yarbrough’s Office Products and Printing. Appreciation is given to Randy Yonz, committee chairperson and the tournament committee which included members of the Dye Foundation - Adam Ferrell, Pam Taylor and Rev. David White.

The winners for 1st Place Gross were (L-R) Randy Howell, Dr. David Morton, Greg O’Brien and Joe Skinner

The winners for 1st Place Net were (L-R) James Willis, Henry Russell, Bobby Tippins and Randy Grantham