News and Updates


Posted on Sep 22, 2017

The James M. Dye Foundation on South Georgia State College’s (SGSC) Waycross Campus welcomed two new members to its Board of Trustees at a recent meeting. The Foundation also recognized seven board members whose service ended June 30, 2017.

Dave Callaway is the owner of Callaway Advertising in Waycross, which produces WAYCROSS Magazine. He is also a community volunteer, having served on the boards of various area organizations. Callaway received his bachelor’s degree in business administration from West Georgia College. He and his wife Sharon have three children – David, Allison and Tricia.

“As a trustee, my hope is to continue the excellence that was laid before me,” said Callaway.

Doug Gibson is an attorney with Gibson and Associates, P.C. and Judge of Ware State Court. He is also Judge of Waycross Municipal Court. He holds a bachelor’s degree from Mercer University and his juris doctor degree from the University of Georgia. Gibson has also earned an associate’s degree in nursing from Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College and a bachelor’s degree in nursing from SGSC.

Gibson and his wife Delores have two children – Taylor and Addie.

“I believe that the best way to increase the standard of living for all the people in south Georgia is to make postsecondary education easily accessible,” said Gibson. “I hope that as a trustee of the James M. Dye Foundation, I can play some part in making postsecondary education more accessible to everyone in south Georgia.”

Callaway and Gibson each will serve three-year terms ending June 30, 2020.

Seven board members whose terms ended June 30 were thanked for their many years of service to the Foundation.
Judge Mike Boggs (20 years), Dr. Dan Booker (13 years), the late Frances Dye (six years), George Farr, Sr. (three years), G.C. Ganas (six years), Lawton Walker (eight years), and Sam Wylie (14 years) each received a small token of appreciation and were thanked during the meeting by Foundation President Huey Spearman.

Foundation Executive Director Taylor Hereford said he is thankful for the leadership and years of service the seven trustees provided to the organization.

“When Dr. James Dye established the Foundation 41 years ago, he looked to leaders in the community who would help him realize his vision of making college affordable for the students of this area,” Hereford said. “I am grateful to the seven trustees we have recognized. Without their leadership, the Foundation’s work would not be as strong as it is today.”

Originally incorporated in 1976 as the Waycross Junior College Foundation, the James M. Dye Foundation was renamed in 2013 for the founding president of the former Waycross College. The Foundation’s mission is to provide financial assistance to students on SGSC’s Waycross Campus through scholarships and grants. The Foundation also supports the Waycross Campus and SGSC through programs and initiatives not funded by the State of Georgia.

All contributions to the Foundation are tax deductible to the extent of the law. For more information about the Foundation or to make a donation, please call (912) 449-7510 or email taylor.hereford@sgsc.edu.

Photo: Front row (L-R): SGSC President Dr. Ingrid Thompson-Sellers and Dr. Dan Booker. Back row (L-R): Lawton Walker, Judge Mike Boggs and Sam Wylie. Not pictured: the late Frances Dye, George Farr, Sr. and G.C. Ganas.