The Strategic Planning Committee of South Georgia State College (SGSC) presents to you—SGSC Students, Faculty, and Staff, as well as the SGSC Community—the following Mission, Vision, and Values.


South Georgia State College, a state college of the University System of Georgia, is a multi-campus, student-centered institution offering high-quality associate and select baccalaureate degree programs. The institution provides innovative teaching and learning experiences, a rich array of student activities and athletic programs, access to unique ecological sites, and residential options to create a diverse, globally-focused, and supportive learning environment.


South Georgia State College will be a regional leader in offering an array of academic programs delivered by talented faculty and reinforced by a skilled support staff. This will attract, prepare, and graduate students who will accomplish their career goals and lead the region to economic success.


South Georgia State College embraces the traditional values of Higher Education as set forth by the University System of Georgia—Integrity, Excellence, Accountability, and Respect.  To accomplish its vision SGSC also identifies the following LEAD core values:

  • Leadership – acting to achieve shared goals around core values.
  • Engagement – facilitating close interaction between students, faculty, staff, and community partners.
  • Affordability – Emphasizing efficiency and effectiveness to provide a quality education and to achieve an affordable degree.
  • Diversity – creating a collegial environment composed of people of diverse backgrounds.
Strategic Planning Committee Members

Dr. Stephen Portch
Chancellor Emeritus of the USG

Dr. Scott Thigpen
Dean, School of Nursing

Ms. Ame Wilkerson
Registrar & Interim Director of Admissions

Ms. Valerie Webster
Coordinator (Ex Officio)
Director of Planning & Entry Programs

Ms. Laken Tanner

Dr. Dana Caldemeyer
Assistant Professor, History

Dr. Kit Carson
Associate Professor, Teacher Education

Dr. Lisa Howell
Professor, Mathematics

Dr. Molly Smith
Professor, Biology

Ms. Suzie Brown
Deputy CIO

Mr. Taylor Hereford
Waycross Campus Director

Mr. Daniel Warren
Director of Facilities

Mr. Donny Bradshaw
SGSC Foundation Board Trustee

Mr. James Willis
Dye Foundation Board Trustee

Dr. Ray Perren
President, Lanier Technical College

Mr. Bert Smith
Principal, Ware County High School

Mr. Lee Robertson
(Ex Officio)
Assistant Principal, Ware County High School