James M. Dye Foundation welcomes new president, trustees

The James M. Dye Foundation on South Georgia State College’s (SGSC) Waycross Campus recently experienced a transition in leadership and also welcomed two new members to its Board of Trustees.

Huey Spearman, a member of the Board since 1999, was elected president for a two-year term ending June 30, 2016. Spearman succeeds Dan Booker who served as the Foundation’s leader for the past four years.

“I am excited to be elected the new president of the James M. Dye Foundation,” said Spearman. “This is an important opportunity for me to remain involved in community service while leading a major entity in providing needed financial assistance to deserving students who attend SGSC’s Waycross Campus.”

In addition to Spearman’s new role, the Foundation welcomed Marco A. Ayulo, M.D. and George W. Farr, Sr. to the Board of Trustees as members of the Class of 2017.

Ayulo is a physician with the Oncology Hematology Care Center in Waycross. He received his medical degree from the University of Seville and is board certified in internal medicine and medical oncology.

Ayulo and his wife, Maria, have three sons – Eduardo, Marco A., and Victor.

Farr is perhaps best known as the retired business owner of Farr’s Discount House and Farr’s Fine Furniture. He attended the University of Georgia’s off-campus site in Waycross prior to his successful business career.

Farr and his wife, Carol Jean, have three sons and three daughters – Keren Farr Vega, Remley, Julia Farr Wurst, George Jr., Fredda Farr Burton, and Harbin.

The James M. Dye Foundation is a non-profit, 501c3 organization that was established in 1976 and named for the founding president of the former Waycross College. The Foundation provides funding for various initiatives on SGSC’s Waycross Campus, outside of state appropriations, including student scholarships and campus events and programs. Tax-deductible contributions from individuals, businesses, and organizations are the Foundation’s main sources of funding.

“Through Dr. Dye’s vision and leadership, the Foundation has grown exponentially over the last 38 years. The Board and I are grateful to those in Waycross, Ware County, and beyond who continue to support the Foundation’s mission and the people it serves,” said Foundation Executive Director Taylor Hereford.

For more information about the James M. Dye Foundation or to make a tax-deductible donation, please call (912) 449-7510.


TOP PHOTO: Huey Spearman is the new president of the James M. Dye Foundation.

MIDDLE PHOTO: Marco A. Ayulo, M.D. has been elected to the James M. Dye Foundation’s Board of Trustees for a three-year term.

BOTTOM PHOTO: George W. Farr, Sr. has been elected to the James M. Dye Foundation’s Board of Trustees for a three-year term.